April 26, 2023

Faculty Awards Committee Report 2022-2023

The Faculty Awards Committee was initiated this first year with a 12-member roster. This slate of faculty represents each college.

We met on Wednesday, March 29, 2023, at 4:00 PM in Metro 207/Conference Room.

In attendance were 9 members. Five members in person were: Melissa Powell/HHP, Randy Evans/Business Management, Chris Smith/Nursing, Marisa Colston/HHP, Jamie Harvey/HHP; however, 4 members: Sherah Basham/Criminal Justice, Jennifer Beach/English, Mengju Xie/Engineering & Michelle Evans/PSPS met with us through Zoom.

This committee formulated questions for me to ask Dr. Matt Matthews from the Provost Office. For example: What is the timeline? What categories are needed? Why/how did the awards become? How can new awards categories be created? Is there a rubric to choose award nominees?

I met with Dr. Matthews on Monday, April 17 to discuss these questions.

Our committee plans to meet Wednesday, May 3 at 3:00 to further discuss the award categories, timeline and rubric. This conversation will prompt us to plan for a late-summer or early fall meeting.

Thank you, Dr. Jamie F. Harvey Chair on Faculty Awards Committee