Faculty Senate Membership

Apportionment of Divisional Members

According to the Faculty Senate Bylaws at the beginning of each academic year the Executive Committee of the Senate will determine if any changes in apportionment of the Senate are needed. If such changes are needed, they are to be addressed during the next election period, as outlined in the bylaws.

The Faculty Senate is divided into the following academic divisions:

- Fine arts (art, music, theatre and speech)
- Humanities (communication, English, modern and classical languages, history,
- humanities, philosophy and religion)
- Behavioral science, (criminal justice, military science, political science, psychology,
- sociology, anthropology, geography)
- Mathematics and sciences, (biology and environmental sciences, chemistry, mathematics,
- physics, geology and astronomy)
- College of Engineering and Computer Science
- College of Business
- College of Health, Education, and Professional Studies
- The Library

Per the bylaws: "The number of Senate members from each of the above divisions will be based on the number of assistant, associate and full professors in each division. If the size of the division is 1-15, 16-30, 31-45, 46-60, etc., the number of representatives will be 1, 2, 3, 4, etc., respectively. Only those members of a division eligible to be elected as described above will be counted for the purpose of determining the apportionment."

In September 2020 UTC's Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Institutional Research provided faculty data for Fall 2020. Based on this data, the apportionment of divisional members should be as follows:

Division	Faculty*	Number of Seats for 2021	Current Number of Members
Behavioral Science	38	3	3
Fine Arts	29	2	2
Humanities	56	4	4
Mathematics & Sciences	53	4	4
Business	44	3	3
Engineering and Computer Science	48	4	4
Health, Education, and Professional Studies	82	6	6
Library	21	2	2

*This includes only faculty holding the ranks for assistant, associate, and full professor, as required by the Senate Bylaws.

No change in divisional apportionment is required. But in the future close attention needs to be paid to fine arts and business, divisions that will require the addition of a member in the future if two or more assistant, associate, or full professors are hired.

Non-Tenure Track Faculty Members

In addition to examining divisional apportionment, the Senate Executive committee also examined the representation of non-tenure track faculty on the Senate.

At present there are three Senate seats for non-tenure track faculty, with two dedicated to full-time non-tenure track faculty and one for part-time / adjunct faculty.

In September 2020 UTC's Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Institutional Research provided faculty data for Fall 2020. The data broke down full-time faculty by tenured, tenure track, and non-tenure track status:

	Headcount	Percent
Full-time, tenured	233	45.7%
Full-time, tenure track	121	23.8%
Full-time non-tenured	155	30.5%
Total	509	

Non-tenure track faculty make up 30% of full-time faculty but only 5.5% of the Senate seats for full-time faculty (2 out of 36 full-time members).